It’s Not The Size Of Your Fan Base, It’s The Magic In It.


September 21, 2012 by thatsocialmediathing

Today I read one of the funniest lines about the ‘stuff’ that brands churn into the Social stratosphere. It also happens to be a really good barometer of how healthy your conversations with your community are. Here it is…..

Do your Facebook posts have the nutritional value of potato chips?

OK….well I laughed my head off! And then I stopped and thought about it.

Cranking out posts about your latest product release, new ad campaign or customer service award is easy – it keeps everyone happy. The messaging is tangible and engagement can be measured in numbers.

Businesses like reporting things in numbers.

But it has the nutritional value of potato chips – which is not good.

Just like good food, good social is organic, not manufactured. You tell your friends where to get it. You’d be OK with paying a little more because you know that you come out a winner. It shows thought and planning and care.

If you are sick of trying to get the crumbs out of your keyboard from typing potato chip content, read Dave Evans (@evansdavearticle that was published on Clickz – he has some really easy ways to make the transition.


One thought on “It’s Not The Size Of Your Fan Base, It’s The Magic In It.

  1. […] my last post I talked (wrote?!) about some branded content having the nutritional value of potato chips – […]

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Fiona. I'm a Social Media Strategist and spend my days thinking, talking, challenging and doing. I believe in being the change I want to see and when I grow up I want to be me. Come and get chatty with me on Twitter or Linkedin. I hope you find some useful info while you're checking out my blog - thatsocialmediathing.

Personal Links

Verified Services

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The Social Set

