Storytelling. It’s The New Black.

Leave a comment

September 10, 2012 by thatsocialmediathing

Funny Somewhat Topical Ecard: I think I need a Pintervention.

image courtesy of someecards.com

As a Social Media Strategist, you can’t swing a freshly pressed e-book around without it hitting a new take on storytelling. It’s the new black, you know!?

Buzzwords aside, brands telling their ‘story’ is not a new thing. It’s just a lot more dynamic now.

And in the hands of your customers.

According to Nielsen, 92% of consumers say they trust earned media (such as Word of Mouth) above all other forms of media and messaging.

In 2007, it was 18%. 

I’ll leave you to do the math on that one……

With your customers having so much control over the story that is told about your brand, isn’t it time to look into ways you can still maintain ownership of it?

Mike Walsh (@mikewalsh) blogged his thoughts on this subject earlier this year. There is an interesting case study of IWC – a Swiss watch-making company and how they approach storytelling (Horizontally to establish heritage and authenticity. Vertically to leverage annual themes such as aviation, diving and lifestyle to support specific product lines).

He also gives a 5-point plan to get started on your brand storytelling. A very worthwhile read!

Leave a Reply

thatsocialmediathing

thatsocialmediathing

Hi! I'm Fiona. I'm a Social Media Strategist and spend my days thinking, talking, challenging and doing. I believe in being the change I want to see and when I grow up I want to be me. Come and get chatty with me on Twitter or Linkedin. I hope you find some useful info while you're checking out my blog - thatsocialmediathing.

Personal Links

Verified Services

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The Social Set

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 541 other followers

